LibGuides: Psychology Resources: Find Journal Articles

Search for Journal Articles

You can use our psychology databases to search for articles across many journals.

For a full list of library databases, visit Databases A–Z.

Lavery Library's Databases A-Z
Link to the full list of Lavery Library's databases
Library Video Tutorials
Follow this link to view video tutorials about how to search for articles, how to cite in APA, and more. All videos created by Lavery Librarians.

Best Databases for Psychology

Start your psychology research with APA PsycNET or PubMed @ Fisher.

APA PsycNET

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines; full-text articles, books, reviews and more. Includes APA PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.
PsycNET, published by the American Psychological Association, is a comprehensive database that includes PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO. It includes full-text articles, book and film reviews, sections from APA and classic psychology books, and summaries of the world's literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

APA PsycNET Tutorials

Lavery Library Tutorial: Search APA PsycNET with Index Terms
Learn about one advanced searching technique. This tutorial was made by Fisher Librarians.
Building a Search with the APA Thesaurus and Index Terms
Video tutorial (YouTube); Running time: 5:05; In this video, you’ll learn how to use Index Terms to find relevant articles on a topic.
Peer-Reviewed Empirical Articles - Searching PsycINFO on APA PsycNET
Tutorial video (YouTube); learn how to find empirical articles in APA PsycNET database; Running time: 2:25

Featured video tutorial: Finding Journal Articles in APA PsycInfo to Answer Your Research Question

This video by APA Publishing Training is a good place to get started when you need to find articles on your psychology research topic.

PubMed @ Fisher

PubMed @ Fisher This link opens in a new window
Articles in medicine and life sciences; some full-text
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed @ Fisher Tutorials

PubMed Searching: The Basics
Lavery Library video tutorial (YouTube); Running time: 3:28
Lavery Library: PubMed Searching: Using MeSH Terms
Lavery Library video tutorial (YouTube); Running time: 3:31
PubMed Searching: Finding Full Text
Lavery Library video tutorial (YouTube); Running time: 4:29

More Databases for Psychology Articles

Many databases have psychology-related content.

You can search multidisciplinary databases that contain journal articles and other materials in overlapping subjects, including psychology.
You can search in subject-specific databases, depending on your topic.

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade and news articles; all topics
All ProQuest Databases rolled into one.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering social sciences, health, and life sciences
Taylor & Francis Complete offers full-text access to 1400+ scholarly journals with back files published by Taylor & Francis or Routledge. The collection covers all academic disciplines emphasizing social sciences, health and life sciences and applied research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other literature with citation links (Google Research Guide Available)
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals; all topics.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of journals and book series in Psychology
The ScienceDirect College Edition provides libraries with access to over 1200 peer-reviewed full-text journals in pharmacology, toxicology, pharmaceutics, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, health sciences, immunology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences, decision sciences, business, management, and accounting, economics, econometrics, and finance, environmental science and agriculture. Journal coverage dates back to 2002.

ERIC, Education Source, and PsycINFO Combined Search - Empirical Studies
Enter your search terms and keywords to search in ERIC, Education Source, and PsycINFO at once. (Special Limiters for ERIC selected: Reports - Research and Reports - Research-practitioner Partnerships; Special Limiter for PsycINFO selected: METHODOLOGY: EMPIRICAL STUDY)

Article Search Tip: Searching in a Database

This is the second in the Creating Search Statements series and builds on Creating Search Statements: Find Keywords, in this tutorial you will learn how combine your keywords in order to search specific library databases.

Try Using a Concept Map

Blank Concept Map

Article Search Tip: Finding the Full Text/PDF

Learn how to use the Get It @ Fisher link in database search results to locate full text in another database or through Interlibrary Loan.