It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Lavery Library's Political Science research guide. These resources should be helpful when conducting research, but if you need more help, contact Nancy Greco, liaison to the Political Science, Legal Studies, and International Studies Departments.
The links below will guide you to some of the most popular (and my favorite) resources in political science and law. For more specific information, use the tabs at the top of the page.
Congress.gov replaces THOMAS, which have been provided by the Library of Congress since 1985. This free online resource makes federal legislative information freely available to the public. Congress.gov offers access to all congressional documentation including bills, resolutions, public laws, committee information, treaties, the Congressional Record, and other government resources.
THOMAS, launched in 1995 by the Library of Congress, makes federal legislative information freely available to the public. Congress.gov (formerly THOMAS) offers access to all congressional documentation including bills, resolutions, public laws, committee information, treaties, the Congressional Record, and other government resources.
HeinOnline is a collection of 19 distinct collections of documents, law journals, and related historical, legal and political science resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, the U.S. Code, New York Legal Research, and much more.
HeinOnline is a collection of 19 distinct collections of documents, law journals, and related historical, legal and political science resources.
JSTOR, a nonprofit organization, is a full-text database containing articles from of over 600 academic journals. Some of these full-text articles can date back as far as the 1600s. The most current articles from the past 1-5 years will not be available through JSTOR.
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
Mapping and analytics tools, including GIS data covering the United States If you encounter problems with accessing data due to the "New Maps/Beta" version, click "Go to Policymap Legacy" in the header.
"The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.
These comprehensive databases include more than 246 journals, 240,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections provide researchers and students with a research environment that is easy to use and complete with the most up-to-date content and backfiles back to volume 1, issue 1."
WestlawNext is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources, such as judicial cases, law reviews, statutes and regulations.
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to law related resources and a comprehensive collection of news and business information.