Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Searching the Literature

About Searching the Literature

You can follow these steps and watch the video tutorials on this page to complete your literature search.

Questions? Contact a librarian and we can help.

Start Your Search: Big Red Box

Start your search with the Big Red Box

You can start searching by visiting Lavery Library's home page, and using the Big Red Box. 

Lavery Library's Big Red Box

Tutorial: Searching the Big Red Box: The Basics

Learn the basics of using the Library's Big Red Search Box!

Was this tutorial helpful?  Send us feedback at libraryreference@sjfc.edu!

Tutorial: Creating Search Statements

This video is the first in a three-part series of Creating Search Statements. This video introduces the concept of selecting keywords from your research topic or question in order to search for library resources.

Was this tutorial helpful?  Send us feedback at libraryreference@sjfc.edu!

About Library Databases

What is a library database?

A library database is an organized collection of published information. In a database, you might find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, or other types of information.

About subject-specific databases

The library has specialized databases for many subjects, such as psychology, nursing, history. You can choose a database that matches your subject to find information and resources for your literature search.

Creating Search Statements: Piece Together Keywords

This is the second in the Creating Search Statements series and builds on Creating Search Statements: Find Keywords, in this tutorial you will learn how combine your keywords in order to search specific library databases.

Was this tutorial helpful?  Send us feedback at libraryreference@sjfc.edu!

Concept Map

Tutorial: Research Tips

It's important to get and stay organized when doing research. Here are some of Lavery Library's top suggestions for staying organized.

Was this tutorial helpful?  Send us feedback at libraryreference@sjfc.edu!

Tutorial: Finding Full Text of an Article

Using the article title and the Big Red Box to find full text of an article.

Was this tutorial helpful?  Send us feedback at libraryreference@sjfc.edu!

Tutorial: Seeing the Future of Scholarship

This video tutorial will teach you how to see who is citing your article.

Was this tutorial helpful?  Send us feedback at libraryreference@sjfc.edu!

Next Step: Evaluate & Select Sources

Ready for the next step?