Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image Return to SJF Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Library Media Specialist (M.S.)

Research Databases

Use the link below to access the recommended databases for research topics within the fields of school library media and education. 

Top recommended databases for GLMS students:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • APA PsycNET
  • Education Source
  • JSTOR
  • Library, Info Science & Technology Abstracts
  • ProQuest Education 
  • SAGE Journals Online
  • ScienceDirect
  • Taylor & Francis
  • Teacher Reference Center

Lavery Library offers access to 150+ online databases. The list above offers good starting points for many library- and education-related research topics but keep in mind, depending on the topic, you may want to refer to databases outside of your field. When this happens, you can find the full list of databases using the link below.

For more database recommendations or research help, email Fisher's Education Librarian: smaiorani@sjfc.edu

K-12 level databases

Use the link below to access the K-12 level online databases offered through Lavery Library.

these include:

  • BrainPOP & BrainPOP Jr.
  • Britannica & Britannica Escolar
  • CultureGrams
  • Explora (Elementary, Secondary, Educator's Edition)
  • Gale in Context (elementary and middle)
  • International Children's Digital Library
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
  • PBS LearningMedia New York (freely available; just create your own account)
  • TeachingBooks
  • TumbleBooks Library & TumbleBook TeenBookCloud

 

We also have trial-based access to the following databases:

Email smaiorani@sjf.edu if these passwords don't work; they change frequently.

Please email smaiorani@sjf.edu with issues (broken links, missing info) & they will be addressed as soon as possible.