Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Get It @ Fisher

What Is "Get It @ Fisher?"

Get It @ Fisher links, which look like the button with red text below, display in many library databases. Sometimes you'll see them in a search result list, sometimes when you're looking at the title and abstract of a single article.

Get It @ Fisher Button

Get It @ Fisher links are used to locate full text in another database, because the database you're searching does not have it. If no full text can be found, the link will direct you to request it through Interlibrary Loan.

The journal linking system takes into account:

  • DOI if present
  • The ISSN or ISBN of the journal or book
  • The name of the journal (if it's a journal)
  • The date of publication
  • The page numbers of the article

Examples in a Database

Below you will see two examples from Lavery Library databases using Get It @ Fisher links.

Example: Search Results from Academic Search Premier

Here is how a Get It @ Fisher link looks in EBSCO database search results.

Get It @ Fisher displayed in a list view

Example: Article Record from Academic Search Premier

Here is how a Get It @ Fisher link looks in an article's detailed record.

Get It @ Fisher displayed alongside a single record in Academic Search Complete

Where does Get It @ Fisher Link to?

Get It @ Fisher links take you to Lavery Library's journal linking system that looks for what databases have full-text. It may automatically take you to the first full-text source.

Example: Full Text Available

Under "View Online," you will see links into databases where the Library has access to full text.

Example of Get It @ Fisher results page with a full-text link, pointing to the SAGE Journals database

Example: No Full Text Available

Sometimes the Library doesn't have access to full text. When this happens you will see an option for "Request from Interlibrary Loan." Below is an example of what you will see when the Library does not have full text immediately available from another database.

Get It @ Fisher page with no full text database sources, only a link to interlibrary loan

Troubleshooting Problems

Because linking between databases relies on so many different factors -- the quality of linking data in the first database, the linking system itself, and the second database's successful resolution of the link -- there is a lot of opportunity for a Get It @ Fisher link to fail.  Here are some tips to try if a full-text link doesn't work.

Does it take you into the database or journal, but not to the specific article?

Try searching the specific database, as described in the previous Q&A, by article title. If there’s no search box, return to the Library’s homepage and access the database through the Databases A-Z list to find the database and begin searching. If title doesn't work, search for the author -- there may be misspellings in the first database you linked from.

Does it take you to a database where there's an error message?

Try searching in that database, as described above.  If there's no search box, go to Lavery Library's Databases A-Z list, find the database, and search from there.

No full-text found

No full-text found?  First, try the "Find Journals by Title" service on the library homepage.  Because this journal lookup only checks journal information, there isn't the chance for errors with article-specific information that Get It @ Fisher has.

Coverage dates and full text delays

Look at the coverage dates next to each database -- if your article is from 1992, a database with coverage from 2003-present will not have full-text!  Here is an example in Get It @ Fisher:

Screenshot of Coverage Dates in Get It @ Fisher. If a coverage statement just says a "from" and no "to" date, coverage extends to present.

Also, look at "Full Text Delay" dates (also called "full text embargoes": this is the amount of time a journal is kept out of the database after publication.  Some databases don't have access to the most recent year of articles published in a journal.  Here is an example in Find Journals by Title:

Location of the full-text delay period in a Get It @ Fisher result

If Find Journals by Title doesn't work to get you full-text access, just submit an Interlibrary Loan request!

Problems?

We'll look into it!  Include in your email:

  • The database you were first searching in
  • The database you tried to link to (if any)
  • A description of the problem or error
  • The journal title, article title, and any other citation information if available.

Email: librarysystems@sjfc.edu

Related Resources