It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HNRS285 Hamilton: Then and Now: Home
The causes of hostility among nations are innumerable.
~ Alexander Hamilton, Federalist Papers No. 6
Use the Big Red Box
from the library's homepage to find books.
Books will give you the background and overview that will help you put primary documents within historical context.
One of the first databases to retrospectively digitize scholarly journal articles back to the 1600s.
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
HeinOnline is a collection of 19 distinct collections of documents, law journals, and related historical, legal and political science resources.
Things to think about
Is there a transcript to help with handwriting and issues of quality?
Does the historical language make it difficult to understand?
Oxford Dictionary of English Entymology
What is the chronology of events?
What is the writer's point-of-view?
What is the writer's purpose for creating the document?
What is the historical context for the document?
Do you have all the names of people, places, and events related to the document?
Do you have all the pertinent dates related to this document?
Finding Primary Sources
Primary Sources are readily found online, as more institutions fund projects to scan their documents and make them available to the public. Your best sources for primary documents from the American colonial era are The Library of Congress and the National Archive. For other online resources, stick to web site from:
These institutions have the expertise to make copies according to archival standard and to organize them in a meaningful way.