Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Music Online
These sites offer the ability to view visual art online through their digitization efforts:
Free source of music, video, text, and archival documents. Also contains archived webpages.
Google Art Project
The Google Art Project provides access to galleries worldwide. Explore art from museums around the world by subject, country, artist, and more.
Web Gallery of Art
Explore this online museum of European art.
English broadside Ballad Archive
Contains broadside ballads of the seventeenth century. From the University of California Santa Barbara archive.
These sites offer the ability to view music collections online:
Online Book/Text Collections
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Contains transcribed historical books and texts from the eighteenth century. Made available from the Text Creation Partnership.
Evans Early American Imprint Collection
Contains text files of transcribed historical books and documents. Made available from the Text Creation Partnership.
Shakespeare Quartos Archive
An online collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays.
A collection of free online ebooks (primarily in the public domain).
Early English Books Online
Some transcribed historical books from the Early English Books Online database have been made freely available online. Made available from the Text Creation Partnership.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Provides access to millions of digitized texts from academic and research institutions across the world.
Folger Digital Texts
High-quality texts of Shakespeare's sonnets, poems, and plays for free. Available in five formats: XML, HTML, PDF, DOC, and TXT.