Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Researching Business Information

Tutorials and links for researching company information and corporate governance issues.

Tutorials on Library Databases

About Library Databases

A library database is an organized collection of published information. In a database, you might find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, or other types of information.

The library subscribes to dozens of databases that contain scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles. 

Watch these Tutorials on Database Searching

On this page, learn how search in a database, and:

  • Break down your research question into search terms and keywords
  • Enter your search terms into a database to find articles
  • Search with operators like AND and OR
  • Use truncation to expand your results in a database

Tip: To get the most out of these videos, you should first watch the videos from this guide's previous page:

Tutorial: Creating Search Statements: Piece Together Keywords

This is the second in the Creating Search Statements series and builds on Creating Search Statements: Find Keywords, in this tutorial you will learn how combine your keywords in order to search specific library databases.

Tutorial: Creating Search Statements: Expand your Results

This is the final video in a three-part series on Creating Search Statements. This video introduces how to use truncation to expand search results.

Tutorial: Locate an Article's Full Text/PDF in a Database

Learn how to use the Get It @ Fisher link in database search results to locate full text in another database or through Interlibrary Loan.