A comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting. The majority of the data is USA data. At this time, there are more than 100,000 time series for which data and custom charts can be retrieved. Why use this site? The vast number of economic time series, easily modified charts of that same data, and the availability of Excel files for all series.
Census Reporter is a Knight News Challenge-funded project to make it easier for journalists to write stories using information from the U.S. Census bureau. Place profiles and comparison pages provide a friendly interface for navigating data, including visualizations for a more useful first look.
The MPC is one of the world’s leading developers of demographic data resources. We provide population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet.
Recommended Subject-specific Databases for Economics
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and business publications
ProQuest Research Library provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text of articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and key business publications. The database covers more than 3,700 publications, with full-text from over 2,500 publications. Titles are from 1972 forward, and the database is updated monthly.
ABI/INFORM Global, a ProQuest database, searches over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. In-depth coverage of business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes information on 60,000+ companies and executive profiles, and 14,000 full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
A full-text database 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
A full-text database containing complete back runs of over 600 academic journals in the arts, sciences, and business. Titles in the database are 1-5 years behind the current issues, depending on publisher restrictions.
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 441,100 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 355,200 downloadable full text documents.
Full-text articles covering social sciences, health, and life sciences
Taylor & Francis Complete offers full-text access to 1400+ scholarly journals with back files published by Taylor & Francis or Routledge. The collection covers all academic disciplines emphasizing social sciences, health and life sciences and applied research.
Business topics; journal articles, reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses
Business Source Complete (BSC) provides full text for more than 8,800 serials. BSC provides full text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Subjects include: all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Journals covering life sciences, economics, law, humanities, medicine, math, and health sciences
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. We publish well over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.