MLA BasicsIn-Text CitationsWorks Cited
APA BasicsIn-Text CitationsReferences
ACS StyleCSE StyleHarvard StyleLegal Style (Bluebook)NLM Style
This is the "Zotero" page of the "Citation Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to St. John Fisher College Homepage

Citation Resources   Tags: citations, endnote, research tools, zotero  

A guide to bibliographic citation formats and citation management tools.
Last Updated: May 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sjfc.edu/citations Print Guide RSS Updates

Zotero Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Zotero?

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a browser add-on that collects, manages, and cites research sources. You can attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections, and create bibliographies.

It was originally designed for use with Firefox, but beta plugins work with Internet Explorer and Chrome, and both a stand-alone desktop application and a web interface enable you to manage and save citations on any computer.

See also this quick start guide published by the Zotero developers. Also available as a PDF.

Presentations

Getting More Out of Zotero

  • ZotFile Extension  
      
    Manages saving, renaming, and moving PDFs and other attached files between a computer and a tablet or other device with a sync program.
 

Introduction to Zotero

Zotero has produced several great how-to videos on their site that demonstrate step by step how to use Zotero's features. This is a quick overview of how to save citations from the web:


(opens in new window)

Using Zotero to Save and Manage Citations

Jason Puckett's book, Zotero: a Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators, provides a thorough understanding of how Zotero can be used in your research. His Zotero LibGuide gives a comprehensive view of the features of the software and how to use it in your library research. Some highlights include:

  • Installing the Firefox add-on (Youtube)
    This YouTube video shows how to install the add-on -- it just takes a few clicks.
  • Save citations in Zotero
    There are three ways to add items to your Zotero library: clicking an icon in your browser, exporting a file from a database and importing into the standalone software, or by manually creating and editing an entry.
  • Create bibliographies with Zotero
    You can use a Microsoft Word/OpenOffice add-on to integrate in-text citations and bibliographies, or you can create a bibliography by exporting from Zotero.
  • Synchronize your Zotero libraries between computers
    This is very important if you have a work computer, a desktop, and a laptop! On a library computer, you won't be able to install the add-on, but you can view, manage, and even add citations by logging in to Zotero.org and viewing "My Library."
  • Sharing data between Zotero and EndNote
    You don't have to choose just one citation manager -- they each have their own strengths. Just make sure that you keep them in sync with each other.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip