Skip to main content
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Technology FAQ: Get It @ Fisher

Frequently-asked questions about technology and digital services in the library.

Related Resources

What Is "Get It @ Fisher?"

What is Get It @ Fisher? Get It @ Fisher sample button

Get It @ Fisher links, which look like the red text above, display in many library databases.  Sometimes you'll see them in a search result list, sometimes when you're looking at the title and abstract of a single article.

These links are there to help you find full-text in another database, usually because the database you're in doesn't have full-text itself.

Here are examples of what it looks like in EBSCO databases, first in a list view (underneath the article information)...

Get It @ Fisher displayed in a list view

... and here, in viewing a single record (alongside of the article information):

Get It @ Fisher displayed alongside a single record in Academic Search Complete

Where does Get It @ Fisher Link to?

Get It @ Fisher links take you to Lavery Library's journal linking system that looks for what databases have full-text for an article or other item when all you see is a citation or abstract.  Under Full-Text Sources, you will see links into databases where the Library should have access.

The journal linking system takes into account:

  • DOI if present (What is a DOI?)
  • The ISSN or ISBN of the journal or book
  • The name of the journal (if it's a journal)
  • The date of publication
  • The page numbers of the article

If Lavery Library's journal linking service doesn't find full-text access, based on these factors, you'll see an option for interlibrary loan.

Troubleshooting Problems

Because linking between databases relies on so many different factors -- the quality of linking data in the first database, the linking system itself, and the second database's successful resolution of the link -- there is a lot of opportunity for a Get It @ Fisher link to fail.  Here are some tips to try if a full-text link doesn't work.

Does it take you into the database or journal, but not to the specific article?

Search for the article by title inside of the database, and you should be able to access the article.  If title doesn't work, search for the author -- there may be misspellings in the first database you linked from.

Does it take you to a database where there's an error message?

Try searching in that database, as described above.  If there's no search box, go to Lavery Library's Databases A-Z list, find the database, and search from there.

No full-text found

No full-text found?  First, try Lavery Library's Journal Lookup (also called Find Journals by Title).  Because the Journal Lookup is only looking at the journal information, there isn't the chance for error that Get It @ Fisher has.

Coverage Dates and Full Text Delays

Look at the coverage dates next to each database -- if your article is from 1992, a database with coverage from 2003-present will not have full-text!  Here is an example in Get It @ Fisher:

Also, look at "Full Text Delay" dates (also called "full text embargoes": this is the amount of time a journal is kept out of the database after publication.  Some databases don't have access to the most recent year of articles published in a journal.  Here is an example in Find Journals by Title:

If Find Journals by Title doesn't work to get you full-text access, just submit an Interlibrary Loan request! (Read more about Interlibrary Loan)

Problems?

Email librarysystems@sjfc.edu and describe the problem, and we'll look into it!  Include in your email:

  • The database you were first searching in
  • The database you tried to link to (if any)
  • A description of the problem or error
  • The journal title, article title, and any other citation information if available.