Skip to main content
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Technology FAQ: Durable Links

Frequently-asked questions about technology and digital services in the library.

Durable Links: Overview

Do you want to point a student, colleague, or classmate to an online journal article or book chapter, but the link that worked for your session doesn't work when you or someone else uses it later?

Many library databases provide methods to create durable links (also referred to as permalinks, persistent links or stable links) to online full-text articles and book chapters.

By using a durable link, someone can click a link in a syllabus, email, webpage, or BlackBoard -- days, months, or even years after you post the link. Here is a step-by-step guide.

When to use a Durable Link

In short: use a durable link whenever you have the option!

If you're posting a link to BlackBoard, including it in a PowerPoint presentation, posting to the web, or saving an article for yourself for later, you should probably use a durable link.

If you are citing a source in a paper, many citation styles do not require inclusion of links for journal articles.  However, it never hurts to keep track of links in your own records.

What NOT to Do (Session IDs)

What you don't want to do: don't share or post a link that includes what's called a "Session ID." These are usually a long list of letters and/or numbers, sometimes marked with "session=" or "SID=" in a webpage address.  These links are not just very long: they don't work after you leave your internet browser!

An example URL with a "session ID" is:
http://ehis.ebscohost.com/eds/detail?vid=2&sid=8101b249-db94-4fe2-aaec-39997a120e0a%40sessionmgr115&hid=105&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWRzLWxpdmUmc2NvcGU9c2l0ZQ%3d%3d#db=eric&AN=EJ979774

The durable version of this link is:
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ979774&site=eds-live&scope=site

Even better: this version is durable, and will work off-campus (see below):
http://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ979774&site=eds-live&scope=site

Off-Campus Links

The instructions below include a step where you may need to add this text to your link:
https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login=

This text, added at the start of the link, allows the person who clicks your link to be recognized as an SJFC user, so she or he can get access. Some databases include this prefix in their durable links (EBSCO's "permalinks" include it, for instance), while in other databases you will need to add it.

Note: if you are posting a link to a website like Twitter, to an article for publication, or in an email to a person outside of SJFC, don't include this "pluma" prefix, because the person clicking won't be able to log in unless they're an SJFC user.

More information about off-campus linking, including a link creator tool, is available here:
http://libguides.sjfc.edu/offcampuslinks

Creating Durable Links to Full Text Journal Articles and eBook Chapters

Below are examples of several databases and the different ways you can get a durable link out of each one. This is not an exhaustive list: if you would like a particular example database included, submit a comment below or send an email to librarysystems@sjfc.edu!


EBSCO Databases

Examples: "Big Red Box" Search, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Communication Source, Education Source, SPORTDiscus, and others.

  1. Connect to a database and search for articles or media.
  2. Click the title of an article to view its detailed information.
  3. Click the "Permalink" tool in the column on the right. A small window pops up with a link; right-click and copy the entire link (only a small portion of the link shows in the window). Paste the permalink into your document.
    Your URL will now look like the one below.
    http://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ979774&site=eds-live&scope=site

JSTOR

  1. Connect to JSTOR.
  2. Perform search.
  3. Copy the 'Stable URL:' listed under the article title and paste into your document.
    EXAMPLE:
    http://www.jstor.org/stable/30046068
  4. In front of the above URL you must paste this URL:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=
  5. Your URL will now look like the one below. It will take students straight to the article they are required to read.
    EXAMPLE:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/30046068

Proquest Databases

  1. Connect to Proquest.
  2. Search for articles.
  3. Copy the URL and paste into your document.
    EXAMPLE:
    https://search.proquest.com/docview/217929696
  4. In front of the above URL, you must paste this URL:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=
  5. Your URL will now look like the one below.
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/217929696

SAGE Journals Online

  1. Connect to Sage from a computer on the SJFC network.
  2. Find an article you are interested in.
    3. Choose "Abstract"
  3. In the column on the right, under "This Article" copy the DOI (a long string of numbers)
  4. Paste the DOI after this URL:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/
    EXAMPLE:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/1534484305278283
  5. This will bring you to a page with the citation to the article. In the column on the right, look for the heading "This Article." Below this there is a link to the full text of the article.

OR:

  1. If you see a link for Full Text (PDF), hover over the link and right-click and copy the link.
  2. Remove the reference to "pluma.sjfc.edu" in the middle of the link.
  3. Add this "pluma" text to the beginning of the link:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=

EXAMPLE:

  1. This is the copied Full Text (PDF) link:
    http://hrd.sagepub.com.pluma.sjfc.edu/cgi/reprint/4/3/356
  2. Remove the ezproxy text:
    http://hrd.sagepub.com/cgi/reprint/4/3/356
  3. Add the ezproxy information at the beginning of the link:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://hrd.sagepub.com/cgi/reprint/4/3...

Science Direct (Elsevier journals)

  1. Connect to Science Direct from a computer on the SJFC network.
  2. Find article.
  3. Copy the URL and paste into your document.
    EXAMPLE:
    http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0001879108000638
  4. In front of the above URL you must paste this URL:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=
  5. Your URL will now look like the one below. It will take students straight to the article they are required to read.
    EXAMPLE:
    https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article...