Skip to main content
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Library Research Basics: Get Full Text

This guide will help you to use the library's resources for your research. Learn to find books and articles, evaluate resources, use specific databases, choose a topic, etc. Access documentation and video tutorials to help with the research process

Use the Get It @ Fisher Link

Most databases will include a Get it @ Fisher link.  Use this link whenever the full text is not readily available.  By clicking this link, the system will search all of the other library databases to find the full text.  If the library does not have access to the full text, use the Interlibrary Loan link to order the material through the library's ILL department. 

Here are the steps to using Get It @ Fisher:

1. You find a book or article, and it doesn't seem to be readily available at Lavery Library.  There is no link to a PDF or HTML file, nor is there a call number for a location on the library shelves.  Click on

2. Look at the results. You will see either a link to the item in another database, or it will prompt you to use interlibrary loan.
In the case below, you are provided a link to View this article at Science Direct

In the case below, you will need to click on the link to Request this item through Interlibary Loan.  Log in to ILL using your usual SJFC username and password.  If your request is a book, it should arrive within 5-7 days.  If your request is an article it should arrive within 1-3 days.

Get to the full text from a citation

Many times, the citation at the end of a really good article will lead you to more good information on your topic.  Lets say you want the highlighted article below that is listed in a citation.

You will need to find out if the library has any access to the journal that published this article, International Political Science Review.

1. Go to the library's homepage at http://www.sjfc.edu/library/

2. Click on Find Journals by title

3. Type in the title of the journal

3. Look to see if the library has access.  In this case, the library has this journal through JSTOR and Sage Premier

4. Check to see if the access years include the year your article was published.  For the article above, you will need 2007; therefore, either of these databases will have your article.  Lets choose Sage Premier for this example.  Click on the link for Sage Premier All Access Collection.

5. Look at what the database offers for searching.  It may bring you directly to the article, or you may need to hunt around a bit.  In this case, we need to select the right year and issue for this article

6. Then you can select the article that you need from the list of articles from that issue.