Printing in the LibraryAdding Funds to your Printing Account
P DrivePlacing Holds in FisherCatInterlibrary Loan
Book Scan Station
Chat with a Librarian
Durable LinksGet It @ FisherOff-Campus Linking
This is the "Off-Campus Linking" page of the "Technology FAQ" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to St. John Fisher College Homepage

Technology FAQ   Tags: faq, it, technology  

Frequently-asked questions about technology and digital services in the library.
Last Updated: Apr 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sjfc.edu/technologyfaq Print Guide RSS Updates

Off-Campus Linking Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Resources

  • Databases A-Z
    All the databases that Lavery Library subscribes to, almost all of which are accessible off-campus.
  • Durable Links
    Get help in choosing or creating a link to an article that lasts after your internet session ends.
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

What is an Off-Campus Link?

Off-Campus Link Login Example
The login page you'll see looks like this.

What are Off-Campus Links?

Links in the library's database list start with some extra text:
https://pluma.sjfc.edu/login=

This makes the link work on- or off-campus.  With this text to the start of the link, a person who clicks the link can be recognized as an SJFC user after she or he logs in with a network ID (like you use to access Gmail or Blackboard).

After logging in, you should be able to get into the database or resource.

Why are Off-Campus Links required?

Publishers, database vendors, and other information providers license resources to libraries based on the idea that only users at that library's institution can use them.  The library provides most of these vendors computer network addresses that identify the college.  To use a library resource off-campus, the library has to use this off-campus linking system to authorize that a user is a current student, faculty, or staff member.

 

Which Login should I use?

Use your SJFC Network Login (what you use to log in to email or Blackboard).

Only use the section of your email address before the @sjfc.edu -- don't use your whole email address for a login.

Don't use your Fish'r'net login (your @ number).

 

Troubleshooting Problems

Because off-campus linking relies relies on many different factors -- the spelling of the link, the linking system itself, and the page you're linking to -- there is a lot of opportunity for an off-campus link to fail.  Here are some tips to try if it doesn't work.

Does your login not work?

Make sure you're using your network login (like the first part of your SJFC email, before the "@" sign).  If you have trouble with your network account, consult the Student Network Accounts FAQ from OIT: http://www.sjfc.edu/campus-services/oit/services/faq-detail.dot?id=124036

Trouble using the password reset system?  Contact the OIT helpdesk at helpdesk@sjfc.edu or by phone at 585-385-8016.

After logging in, does it still not seem to have access to the resource/database?

Report database access problems to librarysystems@sjfc.edu, and we'll look into it!  Include in your email:

  • Where you found the link (library database list, Blackboard, email)
  • If the link is from somewhere other than the library page, copy the webpage address of the link
  • The database you tried to link to
  • A description of the page you see -- "login required" with a logo for the database, for example?

After logging in, do you see a page like this?

EZproxy Host Configuration Example

This means the link may have a misspelling in it or the database/resource may have changed its web address.  The line called "Host" is what the library needs to configure for the database's web address.

Report this to librarysystems@sjfc.edu, and we'll look into it!  Include in your email:

  • Where you found the link (library database list, Blackboard, email)
  • The database you tried to link to
  • Copy the text of this error message into your email

Other problems?

Email librarysystems@sjfc.edu and describe the problem, and we'll look into it!  Include in your email:

  • The database you were first searching in
  • The database you tried to link to (if any)
  • A description of the problem or error
 

Creating Off-Campus Links for use in email, Blackboard and the Web

Creating an off-campus link is easy, but you need to have the spelling of the link just right.  This Off-Campus Link Creator can help.

Here's a tool to create these links for you. Type a URL address in the box below, and an off-campus access URL will be created.

Your off-campus access URL will appear here.

Copy and paste this when providing a link to an SJFC user who could be off campus.

This Off-Campus Link Creator is available on its own page, here: http://www.sjfc.edu/library/resources/offcampuslinks.html

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip