Skip to main content
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Author/Journal Impact: Home

Resources to analyze authors, journals, and articles.

Impact Factors

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Data for comparing journals within a discipline using journal impact factors and immediacy indexes.Subscription resource available at either University of Rochester Libraries or RIT Libraries.  Both universities accept guest users on site.

Journal Metrics
Get SNIP and SJR metrics for journals covered by scopus.  Use it to compare journals in a discipline.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank
A portal that includes the journals indicators developed from the information contained in Elsevier's Scopus® database. Includes the SJR number, H Factor, and journal ranking within a discipline.

Publish or Perish Software
Free software used to retrieve and analyze citations from Google Scholar.  Includes Author Impact Analysis and Journal Impact Analysis.  List H, G and E index factors.
 
Enter the name of a journal and retrieve the H5-index and H5-median.  For more information how google makes the calculation click here.
 

Misleading Metrics

Citation Analysis

Essential Science Indicators - Subscription resources available at University of Rochester Libraries.  They accept users on site. 
Provides Field Baselines with annual citation rates for papers in a research field. Baselines & Thresholds

SCOPUS -  Subscription resource available at SUNY Geneseo Library.  They accept guest users on site. 

Web of Science
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index. 

Google Scholar
Search by author or a combination of author and key word.  Contains a "Cited By" feature.

WorldCat Identities
Provides aggregrated information about book authors including library holdings worldwide.

Publish or Perish Software
Free software used to analyze citations from Google Scholar.  Includes Author Impact Analysis and Journal Impact Analysis.  List H, G and E index numbers.

What are all these different Impact Factors?

Journal Basics

Measuring Your Impact in the Humanities

Measuring the impact of your scholarship in the humanities is in some ways different than measuring impact in the sciences. Use the guide below to help you get started! 

Usage Statistics on Fisher Digital Publications

Click here to see the Top 10 Downloads on Fisher Digital Publications (FDP), and click here to see the 20 most recent additions!  

If an email address has been associated with your work on FDP, you can check usage statistics and even see your own Readership Map! Use the below instructions to find out how.