MLA BasicsIn-Text CitationsWorks Cited
APA BasicsIn-Text CitationsReferences
ACS StyleCSE StyleHarvard StyleLegal Style (Bluebook)NLM Style
This is the "Endnote Basic" page of the "Citation Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to St. John Fisher College Homepage

Citation Resources   Tags: citations, endnote, research tools, zotero  

A guide to bibliographic citation formats and citation management tools.
Last Updated: Mar 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sjfc.edu/citations Print Guide RSS Updates

Endnote Basic Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Is Endnote Basic?

EndNote Basic (formerly "EndNote Web") is a Web-based reference organizer and collaboration tool. Whether at the library or elsewhere, you can collect and organize references, import references from online databases, create a formatted bibliography, and collaborate with colleagues and students.

Useful Resources

 

Introduction to EndNote Basic

This video from Thomson Reuters demonstrates the features in EndNote Basic..

 

Setting Up an Endnote Basic Account

To start a free account, follow these steps:

 

Adding and Editing Citations using EndNote Basic

There are four ways to add citations to your EndNote Basic account:

  • Direct export to EndNote Basic while in a database that supports it
  • Use the "Capture Reference" bookmarklet
  • Export references from other databases, then import them to EndNote Basic by uploading the export file
  • Create a new reference in the EndNote Basic interface itself, and enter in each field

Direct export is ideal if you're using a database that allows for it. Look for options to "Export to EndNote Basic" (or "EndNote Web").

In other databases, you will need to export a file which you will then need to import into EndNote Basic.  When you import from other databases, make sure that you check the imported references to ensure that you're capturing enough data for a proper citation.

Lastly, while it takes a little time to fill in fields for a new reference from scratch, remember that you would have to type this text when writing out your bibliography later, and EndNote will do most of the bibliography formatting for you.

When importing references into EndNote Basic: watch out for titles and other information in ALL-CAPS and misplaced data. A title missing? Make sure you fill in all important citation fields!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip