Access all K12 databases via this link: Lavery Education Databases
Below are descriptions of the K12 databases included on the list at the above link:
BRAINPOP & BRAINPOP JR: over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12 (ages 6 to 17), together with quizzes, supplemental information and related materials. BrainPop is used in more than 25% of U.S. schools and also used in schools in Mexico, the UK, Israel, France, Spain.
DISCOVERY EDUCATION STREAMING: thousands of K-12 educational videos and video clips, images, lessons, quizes, printable worksheets. Searchable by grade, subject, and standard. (If you have not yet created an account, email firstname.lastname@example.org.)
VITAL VIDEO STREAMING: thousands of K-12 videos, games, audio clips, photos, and lesson plans.Search, save, and share with others. A NOVEL resource given free to NYS schools. Searchable by grade, subject, and standard.
elibrary elementary: A beginner-level research database. Contains over 140 magazines and books for elementary students. A NOVEL resource given free to NYS schools. Searchable by Lexile.
KID INFOBITS: A beginner-level research database. Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs. A NOVEL resource given free to NYS schools. Searchable by Lexile.
GROLIER ONLINE: Includes 8 K-12 databases:
1. Encyclopedia Americana includes articles, maps, flags, tables and illustrations.
2. The New Book of Knowledge for middle grade students that includes literary selections, a timeline, projects and experiments, news, homework help and more.
3. Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia for upper middle school students through adults that includes encyclopedia articles, news, timelines, quizzes and games, and research starters. It also includes an atlas and dictionary. Articles can be grouped by lexile level and are aligned to standards.
4. La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre is a Spanish language encyclopedia written from a Latin American perspective. Includes timelines, maps and an events calendar.
5. Amazing Animals of the World for elementary school students that includes facts and photos for over 1,200 animals.
6. The New Book of Popular Science for middle and high school students that includes articles in the areas of science, technology and medicine. Also includes photos, maps and technical illustrations.
7. America the Beautiful for elementary and middle school students that includes articles on US cities, states and Presidents.
8. Lands and Peoples for middle and high school students that includes articles on countries, cultures and current events. It also includes an atlas and almanacs.
OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT: a middle/high school current events research database covering everything from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Includes: pro/con viewpoint essays; topic overviews; primary source documents;biographies; court-case overviews;journal articles, statistics, charts, and graphs; images and a link to Google Image Search; podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs; curriculum standards search; is searchable by grade and discipline. A NOVEL resource given free to NYS schools.
TEACHINGBOOKS.NET: Is a teacher resource for teaching fiction and non-fiction books. You type in a book title, it provides, interview, book readings, meet-the-author movies, and lesson plans on the book you are teaching! Searchable by Common Core. Provides Lexile information.
TUMBLEBOOKS: Four teaching resources particularly valuable for the struggling reader. Provides audio books, ebooks, read-along books, vidoes, games, puzzles.
SUPER TEACHER WORKSHEETS: worksheets in every subject. Most applicable for grades K-5.
ENCHANTED LEARNING: More than 35,000 worksheets and graphic organizers. Usable in grades K-12, although emphasis is K6.
Installing Smart Technology's Software on Your Personal Computer
To install Smart Technology's software on your personal computer, email Robin Schmid at email@example.com.
This software can be used as long as you are a student at SJFC. To stay incompliance with our licensing, you are allowed to use this software ask long as you are a currently enrolled student at SJFC.
When you email Robin, she will provide you with a licensing code. This licensing code is the feature that allows you to have access beyondthe normal 30 day trial period.
Search Curriculum Center
THE CURRICULUM CENTER is located on Lavery Library's Lower Level and is filled with picture books, chapter books, K-12 textbooks, lesson planning tools, subject kits, puppets, DVDs, leveled readers, an Accucut machine for making bulletin board cut-outs, and much more.
To most efficiently search the Curriculum Center, watch this 2-minute video.
Accucut Shapes in the Curriculum Center
Popular Curriculum Center Searches
- Click here to see the 280 + poetry books in the Curriculum Center
- Click here to see a list of 66 WORDLESS BOOKS in the Currciulum Center
- Click here to see the four CDs of Dr. Jean & Friends
- Click here for a list of Lavery Library's Special Education Assessment Kits
- Click here for a list of Lavery Library's Reading Rainbow DVDs
- Click here for a list of Lavery Library's Chapter books on CD
- Click here for a list of Lavery Library's Educational Board Games
Additional Free Teaching Resources
Learn the Address: To commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Gettysburg Address,WXXI is challenging everyone across the country, especially students, to video record themselves (or teams of people) reading the Gettysburg Address. WXXI invites kids and adults of all ages to join the campaign and either submit their own video or participate in a mini-recording session. WXXI will host a preview screening of The Address at the Little in April.
PBS Kid's Writing Contest: The popular PBS Writer's Contest is now open! The deadline for submissions is April 25, 2014 - extended so students can even work on their stories over April Break.
Starfall: Starfall is a free public service to teach children to read with phonics. The systematic phonics approach, in conjunction with phonemic awareness practice, is perfect for preschool, kindergarten, first grade, second grade, special education, and English language learners.
Smart Exchange: Free registration for access to many SmartBoard Lessons.
Dr. Jean Feldman's Finger Plays & Songs for Young Children: learning through music and movement
Book Wizard: A site for locating Lexile levels for books offered by Scholastic
Hot Chalk's Lesson Plan Page: Over 4,000 lessons. Hot Chalk was named 2008 Codie Award finalist for "Best Education Solution" and won a 2007 Technology & Learning Award of Excellence for "Teacher Resources."