LibGuides: School of Business Library Guide: Companies & Financials

Finding Company Information

It's possible to find a lot of business and company information for free on the Web but there is also a lot that is incomplete or proprietary.

Lavery Library subscribes to resources that give you up to date, accurate company information.

Using ABI/INFORM to find Company Information

Database Link

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Business topics; contains articles, company and executive profiles.

Video Tutorials

Learn the search basics for ABI/INFORM database. This video has no narration.

More ABI/INFORM Tutorials

ABI/INFORM Video Tutorial: Researching a Company
Lavery Library tutorial (2 min 27 sec)
ABI/INFORM Video Tutorial: Finding SWOT Analyses
Lavery Library tutorial (1 min 55 sec)

Finding Company Information on Other Library Databases

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Enter company's name or ticker symbol in the main search box.
Research and analysis of companies, industries, and economies around the world. Features include: statistics and data sets, visualization tools and case studies designed to broaden perspectives on real-life business situations.

You can enter the name or ticker symbol for the company.

Example: Enter the ticker symbol DIS in order to find information about Walt Disney Co.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Select the Company Profiles tab in the top navigation or Enter the company's name into Advanced Search, and select CO Company Entity from the pulldown menu, and select Search.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Enter a ticker symbol or company name in search box.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection (Includes Hoover's) This link opens in a new window
Enter the company's name to access the Hoover's Company Record report including company information, financials, employee profiles, and more.

S&P Capital IQ (NetAdvantage) This link opens in a new window
Select the Companies tab in the main navigation at the top of the screen.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage combines eleven of S & P's most popular investor products on a single easy-to-use interface. They include: Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports. Net Advantage also gives access to Standard & Poors independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries and information on over 85,000 private companies.

NetAdvantage Video Tutorials
You can watch these videos to learn how to use the NetAdvantage platform

Value Line Investment Survey
Access to this database expired on 1/31/2021. It is currently available through the New York Public Library. Sign up for a library card at NYPL for access.
For help finding alternative sources, contact a librarian.
"Value Line is:

One of the largest independent research staffs of investment analysts and statisticians in the world.
Totally independent, objective and unbiased.
A research company that collects data and analyzes performance of approximately 8,000 stocks, 15,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities.
A company with 3/4 of a century of experience tracking, analyzing and ranking investments.
Best Known for The Value Line Investment Survey, one of the most widely read investment services in the world.
Critically acclaimed: 'I don't know any other system that's as good.' Warren Buffett
Value Line publishes more than a dozen print and electronic products which we think are used by more than half-a-million investors for timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles."

Historical Information: Financials and Stock Prices

You can find historical financial information and stock prices for publicly held companies in some Lavery Library resources and on some freely available websites.

Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Research and analysis on companies, industries and investments
Value Line Investment Survey
Access to this database expired on 1/31/2021. It is currently available through the New York Public Library. Sign up for a library card at NYPL for access.
For help finding alternative sources, contact a librarian.
"Value Line is:

One of the largest independent research staffs of investment analysts and statisticians in the world.
Totally independent, objective and unbiased.
A research company that collects data and analyzes performance of approximately 8,000 stocks, 15,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities.
A company with 3/4 of a century of experience tracking, analyzing and ranking investments.
Best Known for The Value Line Investment Survey, one of the most widely read investment services in the world.
Critically acclaimed: 'I don't know any other system that's as good.' Warren Buffett
Value Line publishes more than a dozen print and electronic products which we think are used by more than half-a-million investors for timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles."

Yahoo! Finance for Historical Stock Prices
Enter the stock symbol for the company you're researching, select Get Quote, then select Historical Prices.
Google Finance
Nasdaq Historical Stock Prices
Columbia Historical Corporate Reports
View digitized historical reports for hundreds companies, most of which operated in and around New York, from the mid-1800s through the 1960s. A project of Columbia University. available on the Internet Archive.

SEC Filings

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is another source for historical information that is freely available.

SEC - Filings & Forms
Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.

U.S. Company Information from the Library of Congress

Public Company Research
Guide to Public Company Research from the Library of Congress's Business Reference Services
Private Company Research
Guide to Private Company Research from the Library of Congress's Business Reference Services