Skip to main content
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

Citation Resources: Works Cited Examples

A guide to bibliographic citation formats and citation management tools.

MLA 8 Videos

MLA Overview

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers was most recently updated in 2016. It gives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. It provides an authoritative presentation of MLA documentation style for use in student writing.

One copy of the MLA Handbook is kept at the Research Help Desk at Lavery Library, and another is in the shelves available for checkout.

MLA Style 8th edition: MLA Handbook, LB2369 .G53 2016

Additional info

Additional information on MLA style may be found at these websites:

Articles

For an article in a print publication, it's easy:

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.

Just add a couple more details for an article in an online database:

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages (if available). Database name, doi (URL if doi not provided). Date of Access (optional).
Natarajan, Mangai. "Police Culture and the Integration of Women Officers in India." International Journal of Police Science and Management, vol. 16, no. 2, 2014, pp. 124 -139. Academic Search Complete, doi: 10.1350/ijps.2014.16.2.333.
Andrews, Peter T. et al. "Influence of Weather on a Population of Soprano Pipistrelle Bats in West Wales, UK: a 20 Year Study Estimates Population Viability." Endangered Species Research, vol. 30, 2016, doi: 10.3354/esr00720. Accessed 9 Aug. 2016.
Hansson, Heidi, and Cathrine Norberg. "Winter Feeds It: Cold and the Construction of Good and Evil in Susan Cooper's The Dark is Rising." The Lion and the Unicorn, vol. 40, no. 1, Johns Hopkins UP, 2016, pp. 62-80. Project Muse, doi: 10.1353/uni.2016.0010.
Dietschy, Paul, et al. "Parallel Myths, Popular Maps: The Europe Of Soccer." Journal of Educational Media, Memory, and Society, vol. 1, no. 2, 2009, pp. 125-144. MLA International Bibliography. doi: 10.3167/jemms.2009.010206. Accessed 9 Aug. 2016.
Reed, Stanley. "Seeing Past the War." Business Week, 21 Aug. 2006, pp. 35-36.
Hutzler, Charles. "World News: Beijing Wins Bid to Host Winter Olympics in 2022." Wall Street Journal, 1 Aug. 2015, Eastern ed., p.A7. ProQuest Central. pluma.sjfc.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com.pluma.sjfc.edu/docview/1700438308?accountid=27700.

For additional examples and explanations, see the OWL at Purdue's sections about Periodicals and Electronic Sources.

Books

Lastname, Firstname. Title. Publisher, Year.
Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. Harcourt Brace, 1999.
Bérubé, Michael. The Secret Life of Stories: From Don Quixote to Harry Potter, How Understanding Intellectual Disability Transforms the Way We Read. e-book, NYU Press, 2016.
Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. Harcourt Brace, 1999.
---. Richard Wagner: The Man, His Mind, and His Music. U of Chicago P, 1968.
Hock, Randolph, and Gary Price. The Extreme Searcher's Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher. CyberAge Books, 2004.
Davidson, William, et al. Retailing Management. 6th ed., Wiley, 1988.

Note: You may also include full names of all the authors in the order listed on the title page.

Begin citation with title. For example:

NAICS Desk Reference: The North American Industry Classification System Desk Reference. JIST Works, 2000.
Willson Jr., Robert F. The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students. Edited by Joseph Rosenblum, Greenwood P, 2005.
Willson Jr., Robert F. "William Shakespeare's Theater." The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students, edited by Joseph Rosenblum, Greenwood P, 2005, pp. 47-64.

For additional examples and explanations, see the OWL at Purdue.

Other Common Sources

Entire Website

Editor, author, or compiler name (if available). Name of Site. Version number, Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher if not same as author), date of resource creation (if available), URL, DOI or permalink. Date of access (if applicable).
The Nature Conservancy. 2016, www.nature.org. Accessed 10 Aug. 2016.

Note: When using the URL, include the complete address except http://.

"New York." The Nature Conservancy. 2016, www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/newyork/index.htm. Accessed 10 Aug. 2016.

Image (painting, sculpture, or photograph)

Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Creation date, institution where housed, city where housed. Website name, website address or URL, date of access.
​Homer, Winslow. The Artist's Studio in an Afternoon. 1894. Memorial Art Gallery, Rochester. Memorial Art Gallery, mag.rochester.edu/collections, painting. Accessed 10 Aug. 2016.
Feig, Paul, director. Ghostbusters. Columbia Pictures, 2016.

Note: If writing generally about a movie or TV show without focus on actors or directors, begin with film's name. You may list multiple participants if desired.

"Li'l Sebastian." Parks and Recreation, season 3, episode 16, NBC, 19 May 2011. Netflix, www.netflix.com/watch/70190110?trackId=13752289&tctx=0%2C15%2Cc0ce2e5a-462d-45f4-bc00-c7ca5c76b708-17341113.

Note: If you are writing about a specific character, include the performer's name as well as the creator's. You may choose to include information about directors, performers, writers, or producers.

"Lavery Minute - Getting Research Help." YouTube, uploaded by sjfclaverylibrary, 18 Aug 2015, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SQ0ymWWB4M.
Bixler, Heather Ann Martin. Meeting at a Crossroad: Traditional Irish Music and Classical Music Taught in the Same Space. 2015. U of Memphis, PhD dissertation. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/1846101554.
Lurie, Shria. "Reflections From My Second Year at Hogwarts." GradHacker, 2 Jun. 2016, www.insidehighered.com/blogs/gradhacker/reflections-my-second-year-hogwarts. Accessed 12 Aug. 2016.
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Illyich. The Nutcracker, directed by Richard Clark, performed by Butler Ballet, 2 Dec. 2008, Clowes Memorial Hall, Indianapolis.

For additional examples and explanations, see the OWL at Purdue's sections about Electronic Sources and Other Common Sources.