Skip to main content
Banner Image Return to SJFC Lavery Library Homepage Return to Lavery Library Research Guides Homepage

First Year Program Learning Communities: Get Full Text

Use the Get It @ Fisher Link

Most databases will include a Get it @ Fisher link.  Use this link whenever the full text is not readily available.  By clicking this link, the system will search all of the other library databases to find the full text.  If the library does not have access to the full text, use the Interlibrary Loan link to order the material through the library's ILL department. 

Here are the steps to using Get is at Fisher link 

1. You find a book or article, and it doesn't seem to be readily available at Lavery Library.  There is no link to a PDF or HTML file, nor is there a call number for a location on the library shelves.  Click on get it at fisher link

image example of where the "get it @ fisher link" appears in a database

 

2. Look at the results. You will see either a link to the item in another database, or it will prompt you to use interlibrary loan.

In the case below, you are provided a link to View this article at ScienceDirect

image of primo where an article is listed and the link "request from inter libary loan" because the college does not have access

No full text?  In the case below, you will need to click on the link to Request this item through Interlibary Loan.  Log in to ILL using your usual SJFC username and password.  If your request is a book, it should arrive within 5-7 days.  If your request is an article it should arrive within 1-3 days.

image of primo when no full text available and you need to use the link "request from inter library loan"

Get to the full text from a citation

Many times, the citations at the end of a really good article will lead you to more useful information on your topic.  Let's say you want the highlighted article below, which is listed among the references.

image of a citation The People's peace? by Bell, Christine O'Rourke, Catherine (2007) from International Political Science Review, 28 (3): 293-324

You will need to find out if the library has access to the journal that published this article, International Political Science Review.

1. Go to the library's homepage at http://cardinal.sjfc.edu/library/

2. Click on Find Journals by title

image of Find Journals.  Have a citation but don't know where to get the article?  Find full text by looking up the journals in the college journal search

3. Type in the title of the journal

example image of typing in the title of the journal international political science review and showing results

image showing once you bring up the journal click on Online access to bring up the actual jounral

3. See if the library has access.  In this case, the library has this journal through JSTOR and Sage Premier

image of primo showing that the article is available from two suppliers JSTOR and SAGE Complete.

4. Check to see if the years listed next to each database include the year your article was published.  The article in our example was published in 2007: both of these databases include full text for that year.  Let's choose Sage Premier for this example.  Click on the link for Sage Complete.

5. Look at the database's search screen.  It may bring you to a screen with a search box or a link to "search within this publication," or you may need to hunt around a bit.  In this case, we need to select the right year and issue for the article.

image example that once you go into the supplier you may still need to enter the volume, issue and date of the article you want.

 

6. Next, find the article that you need from the list of articles from that issue, and click into the full text.

image of example of once your find the article the pdf image of the article must be brought up to actually read the article